

Hyannis Yacht Club Race Program

Awards Night

Saturday, October 29, 2016



Hyannis Yacht Club Race Program Awards Night Saturday October 29, 2016

On behalf of the Race Management Team of Bill Abbott, Richard St.Onge, Amanda Donohue, Melissa St.Onge, Ryan Scudder, Chris Dixon and Brian Leaver, outgoing Commodore Victor Tagliaferro and new Commodore Chuck Sabatt, welcome to Hyannis Yacht Club to celebrate the culmination of a very successful race season.

Special thanks go to the many behind the scene players who make our efforts run smoothly; Mike, Bob and the entire dock staff, Marsha and Carol for assisting with registration and helping with the program, Sandy Boudreau for photographic excellence, Chris Blair for the best trophies ever!

Ocean, One Design and Team Racing embodies Hyannis Yacht Club's mission and is our cornerstone. Congratulations and thank you to everyone who had a part; skipper, crew, race committee, scorer, spectator, enthusiast.

Enjoy the evening!

Lisa MacLean Race Committee Chair

Commodore's Message

I would like to welcome and congratulate all the sailors, volunteers and participants in the 2016 Hyannis Yacht Club Racing program. This program truly embodies and validates the HYC mission statement of "encouraging the sport of yachting and the science of seamanship and navigation".

On behalf of the Board of Trustees I would especially like to thank Co-Chairs Lisa MacLean and Brian Leaver of Race Committee and the entire team; Brian Leaver for One Design, Ryan Scudder and Chris Dixon for Ocean Race, Amanda Donohue and Melissa St.Onge for Team Racing and Richard St.Onge for protest. Thank you for your hard work along with the HYC volunteers whose concerted efforts have made this program a great success.

It is always great to win and I congratulate the winners. But sailboat racing is so unique and so much unlike any other sport that it is a great outlet for all who participate and race. To be on the water endeavoring every week to master the wind and to outsmart the tide is a great challenge and a never ending pursuit that is the true essence of the sport regardless of the outcome. In sailboat racing we make our best friends and live through our best memories. A trophy is merely incidental because sailing provides its own distinctive value for each of us. For all of us who sail, there is a victory for each of us in every race.

Thank you again to all who have contributed this year. Have a wonderful evening. I look forward to seeing you around the Club.

Chuck Sabatt Commodore

2016 OCEAN CLASS AWARDS

Beercan 2016

June Series

Cluss A			
1st	Wings	Richard Egan	
2nd	Eagle's Eye	Matt Wake	

Class B

1st	Breezing Up	Roy Catignani
2nd	Loose Goose	Gary Blank

July Series

Class A		
1st	Wings	Richard Egan
2nd	Eagle's Eye	Matt Wake

Class B

1st	Loose Goose	Gary Blank
2nd	Nepenthe	Marc Fater

August Series

Class A

1st	Eagle's Eye	Matt Wake
2nd	Gambler	John Downey
3rd	Wings	Richard Egan

Class B

1st	Loose Goose	Gary Blank
2nd	Nepenthe	Marc Fater

Class A Overall Winner

Eagle's Eye Matt Wake Class B Overall Winner Loose Goose Garry Blank

Baxter Memorial Long Distance Race

Class A

Spinnaker Scott Bearse

1stSlide Rule2ndEagle's Eye

Matt Wake

Class D

Cruising

1st Loose Goose 2nd Breezing Up

Garry Blank Roy Catignani Hurricane Cup (Hurricane Cup Trophies have been awarded)

Class A

Spinnaker

1st	Gambler	John Downey
2nd	Ruse	Bill Marsh
3rd	Slide Rule	Scott Bearse

Class B

Cruising

1st	Finesse	Rod Komar
2nd	Rendezvous II	Mike Mason
3rd	Breezing Up	Roy Catignani

Class C

Cruising

1st	Saylavee	Peter Soule
2nd	Fidelis	Jim Taylor
3rd	Loose Goose	Gary Blank

Eye Of The Storm

Class A

Class B

Spinnaker

Scott Bearse

Richard Egan

Bill Marsh

1stSlide Rule2ndWings3rdRuse

Cruising

1stNepentheMarc Fater2ndRendezvous IIMike Mason3rdFinesseRod Komar

Class C

Cruising

1stCalypsoDenis Yannatos2ndSpeculationGreg Kelly

2016 One Design Awards_

June	Thurso J-22s	lay Series	
	1st 2nd 3rd	Res Ipsa Blue Loco	Jack Meade Norman MacLean & Paul Revere Al & Eileen Baird
	Lasers		

1st	Thomas Cooper
2nd	Peter Hallemeier
3rd	Brian Leaver

Peter Hallemeier
Brian Leaver
Thomas Cooper

July			
	Thursday Series J-22s		
	1st	Res Ipsa	Jack Meade
	2nd	Мојо	Tony Prizzi
	3rd	Blue	Norman MacLean & Paul Revere

Lasers

1st	Richard Martone
2nd	Dave Penfield
3rd	Brian Leaver

Sunday Series

1st	Sizzler	Matt Sexton
2nd	Res Ipsa	Jack Meade
3rd	Shockwave	Scott McKenzie

Lasers

1st	Peter Hallemeier
2nd	Brian Leaver
3rd	Dave Penfield

August

Thurs	day Series	
J-22s		
1st	Res Ipsa	Jack Meade
2nd	Мојо	Tony Prizzi
3rd	Blue	Norman MacLean & Paul Revere

Lasers

1st	Dave Penfield
2nd	Peter Hallemeier
3rd	Brian Leaver

Sunday Series

J-22s		
1st	Res Ipsa	Jack Meade
2nd	Sizzler	Matt Sexton
3rd	Shockwave	Scott McKenzie

Lasers

1st	Brian Leaver
2nd	Peter Hallemeier
3rd	John Dickson

Fall Sunday Series

Lasers	
1st	Peter Hopple
2nd	Brian Leaver
3rd	Dino Garbero

July 4 Trophy Race

Lasers Amanda Donohue

J22s Scott McKenzie, Shockwave

Labor Day Race

Cancelled Due To Inclement Weather

Commodore's Cup

Laser Brian Leaver

J22s Jack Meade, skipper Phil Boudreau and Dave Wilbur crew Res Ipsa

Leonard Gallagher One Design Dedication Award

Fred Williams

Malcolm Filmore Ocean Dedication Award

Matt Wake

Steve Howard Outstanding Crew Award Dave Wilbur

Team Racing

Hyannis Yacht Club continued to build the team racing program under the leadership of Amanda Donohue and Melissa St.Onge. There was one Thursday event with strong participation. The special Saturday events stood out and some, like Independence Day and Chix Only, have become annual events. Thanks to the Roger Newson team for providing the Chix with liquid refreshments!

The Summer Send off featured a hearty competition between HYC (who won) and Stone Horse Yacht Club who vowed to return for redemption.

A special shout out goes to the Hyannis Yacht Club staff for preparing the boats to sail and for supporting the efforts of strengthening Team Racing in Lewis Bay.

Team Racing Race Committee 2016

Betsy Aiken Bill Abbott Charlie Cooper Amanda Donohue John Drew John Griffin Mike Hersey Lisa MacLean Scott McAllister Jim Latimer Norman MacLean Rob Marks Melissa St.Onge Richard St.Onge Valerie St.Onge Susan Towner Steve Wilson Sarah Yuskatis

Ocean Class Race Committee 2016

Bill Abbott Eileen Baird Steve Cote Chris Dixon Rene Douglas Bob Dwyer Maureen Dwyer Dick Fleming Skip Gallagher LJ Gallagher Mike Hersey Bob Hill Nancy Komenda John Krystyniak Denise MacIsaac Donald MacIsaac Lisa MacLean Norman MacLean Ryan Mann Gabor Manyhart Marylee Meehan Richard Mumford Ryan Scudder

One Design Race Committee 2016

Bill Abbott Sandy Boudreau Amanda Donohue John Drew Andy Efstathiou Andrew Efstathiou Judy Fenner Nancy Efstathiou Mike Hersey Jim Latimer Brian Leaver Trisha Leaver Lisa MacLean Norman MacLean Leisa Marks Rob Marks Janet Murray Neil Murray Chuck Sabatt Keith Sexton Melissa St.Onge Richard St.Onge Valerie St.Onge Steve Wilson Fred Williams Lee Williams

Protest Committee 2013

Bill Abbott Lisa MacLean Richard St.Onge Jon Wood

SEE YOU SUMMER OF 2017!